West Virginia CLE Requirements
West Virginia attorneys are required to complete 24 hours of CLE every 2 years. At least 3 hours must be in the areas of Elimination of Bias, Ethics, Law Practice Management, or Substance Abuse. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by June 30th and report by July 31st each reporting period.
Attorneys may carryover up to 6 hours of CLE credit to the following reporting period.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Newly admitted attorneys must complete the live in-person Bridge the Gap Program within 24 months of their admission.
West Virginia attorneys must earn at least 12 hours of CLE credit from live in-person events. Attorneys may earn up to 12 CLE credits through online on demand courses.
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state's CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.