Idaho CLE Requirements
Idaho attorneys are required to complete 30 hours of CLE every 3 years. At least 3 hours must be in the areas of Ethics or Professional Responsibility. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by December 31st and report by January 31st every reporting period.
Attorneys may not carry over CLE credit to the following year.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Within 12 months of admission to the Idaho State Bar, each member to complete at least 10 New Admittee Credit-Approved (NAC-Approved) continuing legal education (CLE) credits. NAC-Approved CLE Credits address Idaho practice, procedure and/or ethics. Of these 10 NAC-Approved CLE credits, attorneys shall complete courses specifically addressing Idaho substantive law on ethics, civil and criminal procedure, and community property. The NAC-Approved CLE credits completed by an attorney in his or her first year of admission to the ISB will be counted towards satisfying the 30 CLE credit hour requirement.
A new member who has actively practiced law for less than 3 years in any jurisdiction prior to admission to the Idaho State Bar must also complete the New Attorney Program within the first year of admission. The New Attorney Program consists of an introduction to practice, procedure and ethics. It is not available online or as a recorded program.
Idaho attorneys may earn up to 15 hours of CLE through on demand and self study courses.
Idaho State Bar
PO Box 895
Boise, ID 83701-0895
Phone: (208) 334-4500
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state's CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.