Iowa CLE Requirements
Iowa attorneys are required to complete 15 hours of CLE each year. At least 3 hours must be in the area of Ethics. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by December 31st and report by March 10th each year.
Attorneys may carryover up to 30 hours of CLE credit for up to 2 years.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Newly admitted attorneys are required to complete an 8 hour Basic Skills course within one (1) year from the date of admission to practice in Iowa. This program must have at least 1 hour of Ethics, and focus specifically on Iowa law in at least 8 of the following 10 topic areas:
- Civil Procedure
- Criminal Law
- Criminal Procedure
- Family Law
- Guardianships, Conservatorships, Trusts, and Powers of Appointment
- Business Entities
- Real Estate Transactions
- Ethics and Professionalism
Iowa attorneys may earn up to 6 hours of CLE through online courses each year.
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state's CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.