Louisiana CLE Requirements
Louisiana attorneys are required to complete 12.5 hours of CLE each year. At least 1 hour must be in the area of Ethics and 1 hour must be in the area of Professionalism. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by December 31st and report by January 31st each year.
Attorneys may carryover up to 8 hours of CLE credit to the following year.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Newly admitted attorneys must complete 12.5 MCLE hours during the year of their admission, through the next calendar year. Eight of these hours must cover legal ethics, professionalism, and law office management.
Louisiana attorneys may earn up to 4 hours of CLE through online courses each year.
LSBA MCLE Committee
601 St. Charles Ave
New Orleans, LA 70130-3404
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state's CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.