New Jersey CLE Requirements
New Jersey attorneys are required to complete 24 hours of CLE every 2 years. At least 4 hours must be in the area of Ethics and Professionalism. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by December 31st and report by March 1st of their reporting period.
Attorneys may carryover up to 12 hours of CLE credit for up to 2 years.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Within the general 24 credit CLE requirement, newly admitted New Jersey attorneys must obtain 15 credit hours in at least 5 of the following 9 subject areas during the newly admitted lawyer’s first full two-year compliance period:
- New Jersey basic estate administration
- New Jersey basic estate planning
- New Jersey civil or criminal trial preparation
- New Jersey family law practice
- New Jersey real estate closing procedures
- New Jersey trust and business accounting
- New Jersey landlord/tenant practice
- New Jersey municipal court practice
- New Jersey law office management
New Jersey attorneys must earn at least 12 hours of CLE credit through live in-person events. Attorneys may earn up to 12 hours of CLE through alternative formats, including online on demand courses.
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state's CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.