Ohio CLE Requirements
Ohio attorneys are required to complete 24 hours of CLE every 2 years. At least 2.5 hours must be in the area of Professional Conduct, which includes Ethics, Professionalism, and Substance Abuse. Attorneys must earn the required MCLE credits by December 31st and report by January 31st each reporting period.
Attorneys may carry over up to 12 hours of CLE credit to the following reporting period. Credits in Professional Conduct or self study may not be carried over.
Newly Admitted Attorneys
Newly admitted Ohio attorneys must complete 12 hours of New Lawyers Training (NLT) courses that have been approved by the Ohio CLE Commission. The 12 hours includes 9 hours in one or more substantive areas of law and three (3) hours of instruction in professionalism, law practice management, & client funds management.
Ohio attorneys must earn at least 12 CLE hours from live events, including webinars. Attorneys may earn up to 12 CLE hours through online on demand courses.
About Our CLE Requirements Guide
This information is for general informational purposes only. Each state has specific CLE rules and regulations, which may not be fully reflected on our site. Please contact your state's CLE regulator to determine your specific rules and requirements.